Texas AFL-CIO Ruth Ellinger School Graduates a Class of 30

Texas AFL-CIO Lead Organizer Kara Sheehan reports the second Ruth Ellinger Labor Leaders School concluded successfully over the weekend with an absorbing final session and graduation.

Sheehan and Texas AFL-CIO Director of Campaigns Jeff Rotkoff have led the way in building something beautiful, opening new avenues toward leadership for activists in our movement. The connections built in this program are going to make a difference for years to come.

Congratulations to this year's graduates. If you would like to join the next class or know someone in your union who would benefit from signing up, read Sister Sheehan's post:

This past weekend, participants in the 2017-18 Ruth Ellinger Labor Leaders School met for their final session and graduation.

The Texas AFL-CIO began the year-long Ellinger school in 2016, with an initial class of 12 students. This year's school saw 30 students graduate.

Jeff Rotkoff and Kara Sheehan, from our Campaigns Department, facilitate the program and will be opening up applications for the third class this summer. They are excited to see the program grow and hope to see more applications from different parts of the state this year.

They also would like to thank the staff of the Texas AFL-CIO for their support, including President Rick Levy and Secretary Treasurer Montserrat Garibay, as well as former President John Patrick, who was integral in getting this program off the ground.

Finally, a huge thank you to the students whose participation and knowledge helped to make this program so special, and to the affiliates and central bodies who nominated these future labor leaders and helped sponsor their attendance.

Here is a list of this year's graduates. For more information about the Ruth Ellinger Labor Leaders School, please contact Kara Sheehan at [email protected].

Karen Reyes Lozano (Education Austin)
Rene Avila (Ironworkers 84)
Kasey Lansangan (IBEW 520)
Cheryl Lee (CWA 6132)
Steven Sanders (ILA 24)
Joel Smith (AFGE 3184)
Mayra Huerta Lucio (NOLSW/UAW 2320)
Corne Jones (IUE-CWA)
Rachel Heaston (NOLSW/UAW 2320)
Charles Fuentes (CWA 6143)
Pamela Morgan (CWA-AFA)
Amanda Cavazos Weems (CWA/TSEU 6186)
Richard Salazar (AFSCME 3806)
Bobbie Martinez (CWA 6215)
Jeremy Pavlich (UA 68)
Areli Zarate (Education Austin)
Daniel Stender (IBEW 60)
Justin Bautista (AFGE 2284)
Jason Beltran (IBEW 520)
Traci Dunlap (Education Austin)
Michael King (IBEW 520)
Maria "DJ" de Jesus Garza (NOLSW/UAW 2320)
Carl Webb (IBEW 520)
Franklin Wilson (HOPE 123)
Lorraine Montemayor (Dallas AFL-CIO)
Joseph "Big Joe" Hernandez (IBEW 520)
Angela DeFelippo (OPEIU 298)
Sam Tijerina (IUEC 31)
Mike Hernandez (IBEW 60)
Freddie Cuellar (AFGE 1049)