2020 Scholarship Program


WHO MAY APPLY:  Members or children of members of local unions or children whose legal guardians are members of local unions that are affiliated with the Texas AFL-CIO and the local Central Labor Council. Applicants must be high school seniors who are planning to attend a university, college or technical institute in the summer or fall term.  Scholarships are one-time grants of $1,500.

Application forms are available here for download, from your Central Labor Council, or from the Texas AFL-CIO Education Department - P. O. Box 12727, Austin, Texas 78711.  THE POSTMARK DEADLINE FOR APPLYING IS THURSDAY, JANUARY 31, 2020.

TO INSURE PROPER PROCESSING:  Please be sure to list the Central Labor Council, if any, with which your parent’s or legal guardian’s local union is affiliated.  Make sure the application is signed by a union officer and at least one parent or legal guardian.  Include an official school transcript and if applicable, proof of legal guardianship.  If you are unsure that your local union is affiliated with your local Central Labor Council, please contact one of your local union officers. PLEASE MAIL APPLICATIONS TO:  TEXAS AFL-CIO EDUCATION DEPARTMENT - P. O. BOX 12727, AUSTIN, TEXAS   78711.  Incomplete applications will be returned to the student.

A packet of material on organized labor will be sent to each applicant to prepare for a test about unions.  If you do not receive your packet, please contact your central labor council, a local union officer, or the Texas AFL-CIO.

SELECTION PROCESS:  Each Central Labor Council will arrange all interviews and tests for applicants no later than April 8, 2020.  Please contact your Central Labor Council if you have not received notice of an interview by April 1, 2020.  YOU MUST BE TESTED AND INTERVIEWED IN THE CENTRAL LABOR COUNCIL DISTRICT IN WHICH YOUR LOCAL UNION IS AFFILIATED.

After interviews and tests are conducted, each local Central Labor Council will select semi-finalists from among their applicants.  Applicant’s financial need, academic achievements, extra-curricular activities, and his/her understanding of the labor movement as demonstrated by the test scores and interviews will be considered.

The statewide Scholarship Committee of the Texas AFL-CIO will select winners from among the semi-finalists.  The results will be mailed to all applicants.  High Schools principals will receive notice of winning applicants whose name will be announced in the Texas AFL-CIO Labor News.

 If you are awarded a scholarship, please contact the Texas AFL-CIO Education Department in writing or via email to [email protected] and give us the name and address of the university, college or technical institute you plan to attend.  The scholarship will be paid directly to the school of your choice upon acceptance.

 For further information, contact your local union officer, Central Labor Council or Edward Sills, Texas AFL-CIO Education Department, at (512) 477-6195 or [email protected].

Click Here to Download the 2020 Scholarship Application 

Donors to Texas AFL-CIO Scholarship Fund

July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019


Austin AFL-CIO Council

Bank of Labor

Becky Beaver

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois

California Bio-Pharma Labor Management Association

Carlton Carl

Coalition of Black Trade Unionists San Antonio Chapter

Coastal Bend Central Labor Council

Corpus Christi AFT

CWA 6132

CWA 6215

Jessica Fink

San Juan Garcia

Hubert Gill

Russell & Renee Graham

Heat & Frost Insulators Local 21

Heat & Frost Insulators Local 87

IBEW 716

Ironworkers Local 263

IUOE Local 450

Melissa Jones

James & Teresa Klein

Maggie Kramer

Cherry Kugle

Rick Levy

Robert McEntire

Katherine & John McGhee

Becky Moeller

Morgan Stanley

OPEIU Local 66

Vincent Panvini

John Patrick

PCI Nitrogen, LLC


Plumbers & Steamfitters Local 100

Plumbers Local 68

Leilah Powell

Javier Ramos

Sabine Area Central Labor Council

Sheet Metal Workers Local 54

Ed Sills

South Atlantic & Gulf Coast ILA
Dennis Speight

Emily Speight


Texas State Council of Machinists

United Steelworkers Local 13-1

Sue L. Vaughn

Rosa Walker

Janet & Mark Widoff

James & Kathleen Wilkinson

Memorials and Honorees – Texas AFL-CIO Scholarship Program

July 1, 2018-June 30, 2019


Richard Atkins

Jim Brookes

Joseph William Cash Jr.

Louis Davis

Sam Dawson

Venancio “Bene” Figueroa

Marjorie Furr

Johnnie Hartfield

Edwin Hill

Hervey Harrison Hiner Sr.

George Hooper

Kay Lee

Mike Littleton

Vincent Pascacio Martinez

Gertrude Mika

Bob Priest

Jeanne Ragsdale

Billy Robinson

Pauline Salinas

Ricardo Salinas

Renee Shepard

Steve Smith

Buck Sosa

Max Torres

Jeff Warden

Charissa Wells


Becky Moeller

John Patrick